[2023 ]Selected famous and hidden places to go sightseeing in Hiroshima by Hiroshima Prefecture residents.
2022-05-24 Management office
Check out the newest info on DeepExperience social media
Table of Contents
Areas around Miyajima
Since ancient times, Miyajima has been considered sacred for its beauty and has been the object of people's worship. In modern times, the island is protected by many laws, which has left much of its nature untouched. Plants such as the miyajima maple and miyajima damselfly, as well as insects such as the miyajima damselfly, can be found on Miyajima's unique nature. In addition, wild raccoon dogs, deer, and Japanese monkeys also inhabit the island. Miyajima is home to the Miyajima Odori dance, which is said to be about 500 years old. It is a very simple and monotonous dance, but it has become one of the things that tell the history of Miyajima and can still be seen every year.
Since the beginning of the Edo period, Miyajima has been one of the "Three Great Views of Japan" along with Matsushima and Amanohashidate. It is a major tourist destination with Itsukushima Shrine (registered as a World Heritage Site), other historic temples such as Daisho-in Temple and Daiganji Temple, Machiya Street where visitors can enjoy old townscapes, an aquarium, and a ropeway.
Access: 10 minutes by ferry from JR Miyajimaguchi Station. If you are driving, parking is available at the Miyajimaguchi Pier.
The shrine was registered as a World Heritage Site in 1996 and is famous for its torii gateway built in the sea with the islands of the Seto Inland Sea in the background. The Otorii stands 200 meters from the shore and is made of a large camphor tree. It is said that the reason why the torii gate was built in the sea is because the entire Miyajima Island was worshipped as an island of God, and therefore, it was constructed in the sea instead of on land. There are many places of interest, such as the five-story pagoda of Itsukushima Shrine in the vicinity. The corridor, built so that visitors can walk on the sea, is also a popular attraction. It is a sacred place that looks different at high and low tide, and is visited by many tourists throughout the year.
The adjacent Toyokuni Shrine is 857 tatami mats in size and is also a well-known attraction.
Facility name: Itsukushima Shrine
Address: 1-1 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima 739-0588
Phone number: 0829-44-2020
Hours of operation: 6:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. (subject to seasonal changes)
Budget: Adults 300 yen / High school students 200 yen / Small and medium students 100 yen (Please refer to the official website for details)
Experience Miyajima with your heart and mind via "Deep Miyajima"
Miyajima (Itsukushima Shrine/Mount Misen)
Recommended for couplesRecommended for groupsSmall GroupTraveling with the GirlsTrip with the GuysOut of the OrdinaryFood RelaxingIncludes Guide
Misen (Mt. Misen) is the highest mountain on Miyajima at 535 meters above sea level.
The primitive forests of Mt. Yayama are registered as a World Heritage Site as a composite heritage with Itsukushima Shrine, a cultural heritage site. The nature of Mt. Yayama is unique in that the primitive vegetation remains untouched. It is said that the symbiosis of southern plants and warm-temperate plants can be seen only at Yayama.
From the Yayama Observatory at the summit, visitors can see the Seto Inland Sea and the Shikoku mountain range, and the view has been awarded three stars by the Michelin Guide. The giant and oddly shaped rocks near the summit are also power spots.
Other tourist attractions include Miyama Shrine, which is dedicated to the same three deities as Itsukushima Shrine, Yayama Main Hall, which is said to have been founded by Kobo Daishi in 806, and Gumonmochido, located behind Miyama Shrine, where Kobo Daishi is said to have practiced Gumonmochi for a hundred days.
Facility name: Yazan (Mt. Misen)
Address: Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima 739-0588
Opening hours：10:00～16:00 (Observatory)
The Miyajima Ropeway takes you near the top of the World Heritage-listed Mt.
First, we will go to Kaya-dani Station from Momijidani Station, about a 6-minute walk from Itsukushima Shrine. The ropeway takes about 10 minutes, has a capacity of 8 passengers, and runs at intervals of about 1 minute. Next, transfer at Kayadani Station to Shishi-iwa Station. The ropeway takes about 4 minutes to get to Shishi-iwa Station, which is an alternating ropeway with a capacity of 30 people. From Shishi-iwa Station, a 30-minute walk will take you to the Yayama Observation Deck at the top of Mt. Even on the way to the observatory, you can walk while sightseeing, as there are "Yayama Main Hall," "Reihi-Do" and "San-Gi-Do" on the way to the observatory.
If you climb the mountain on foot without using the ropeway, it takes about 2 hours. The Miyajima Ropeway Momijidani Station is approximately 26 minutes from the Miyajima Pier if you only walk, or 3 minutes by bus from the Momijidani Park entrance if you take the free shuttle bus from the Momijidani Park entrance at the 16-minute walking point. The free shuttle bus runs approximately every 20 minutes.
Facility name: Miyajima Ropeway (Miyajima)
Address: Momijidani Park, Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 739-0522
Phone number: (0829)-44-0316
Hours: Dec-Feb 9:00-16:30, other months 9:00-17:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: Adults: 1,010 yen one way, 1,840 yen round trip Children: 510 yen one way, 920 yen round trip (see official website for details)
Miyajima Private Cruise & Drone Photoshoot
Miyajima (Itsukushima Shrine/Mount Misen)
Recommended for familiesRecommended for couplesTraveling with the GirlsTo Make MemoriesFor a Special DateCharterMarine SportOut of the OrdinaryAvoid the 3 CsVIP Experience
Miyajima Aquarium, nicknamed "Miyajima Marine," is an aquarium with the themes of "healing" and "interaction. The exterior of the aquarium does not look like an aquarium at first glance, as it is a Japanese-style building designed not to spoil the scenery of Miyajima, with vermilion-lacquered pillars at the entrance as an image.
The symbol of the Miyajima Aquarium is the "snapping turtle," which reigns at the top of the Seto Inland Sea ecological pyramid and is also the aquarium's logo. Once abundant near Miyajima, they are now rare and can be seen on the first floor of the Miyajima Aquarium.
In addition, visitors can enjoy exhibits that are unique to Miyajima, such as a corner that recreates the tidal flats of Mikasa-hama, where the Otorii (Grand Gate) is located, and a corner that recreates an oyster raft. There are also hands-on events such as touching Humboldt penguins and jab-jab time in a pool with shore creatures. Miyajima Aquarium is a 25-minute walk from Miyajima Pier or a 10-minute ride on the Miyajima Maple Liner bus.
Facility Name: Miyajima Aquarium
Address: 10-3 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima 739-0534
Phone number: 0829-44-2010
Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 *Last admission at 16:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: General (including high school students) 1,420 yen Junior high school and elementary school students 710 yen Children 400 yen (For details, please refer to the official website)
Toyokuni Shrine is commonly known as Senjamikaku. It is the largest wooden structure on Miyajima, a large temple with an irimoya-style roof, and its name Sentamikaku comes from the fact that it is large enough to hold 857 tatami mats.
Hideyoshi Toyotomi initiated the construction of the temple in 1587 and ordered Ankokuji Ekei to build it as a place to recite the Senbu Sutra for the repose of the warriors' souls. However, construction was halted after Hideyoshi's sudden death in 1598, and to this day there is no ceiling except above the gojiza.
Later, during the Edo period (1603-1867), the temple became a popular place for people to socialize and enjoy the cool of the evening, and the names of Kabuki actors and willow trees are inscribed on the large pillars. During the Meiji period (1868-1912), when the Shinto and Buddhism Separation Order was passed, the main deities Shakyamuni Buddha, Anan and Kabane were moved to Daigan-ji Temple, and the shrine became Toyokuni Shrine, dedicated to Hideyoshi and Kiyomasa Kato.
Access to Toyokuni Shrine (Senjo-kaku) is a 10-minute walk from Miyajima Pier. It is located on a hill next to Itsukushima Shrine, and the corridor overlooks Itsukushima Shrine. The five-story pagoda of Itsukushima Shrine is also located right next door.
Facility name: Toyokuni Shrine (Hokoku-jinja Shrine)
Address: 1-1 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima 739-0588
Phone number: 0829-44-2020 (Itsukushima Shrine)
Hours of operation: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (year-round)
Budget: 100 yen (junior high school and elementary school students: 50 yen) (refer to the official website for details)
Hiroshima City Area
Peace Memorial Park
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park was established to commemorate the victims of the atomic bombing and to pray for lasting world peace.
Located on a delta at the junction of the Honkawa and Motoyasu Rivers, it has long been the central downtown area of Hiroshima City since the Edo period. However, it became the hypocenter of the atomic bomb dropped on August 6, 1945, and everything was destroyed in an instant. After the war, maintenance work began in 1950 and was completed in 1955, giving the area its current appearance.
There are many spots in the park that remind us of those days and strengthen our desire for peace, including facilities such as Peace Memorial Museum and the Hiroshima International Conference Center, numerous memorials and monuments such as the Statue of the Children of the Atomic Bomb, the Peace Bell, and the Atomic Bomb Memorial Tower, and the Aogiri tree, which sprouted the following spring despite the atomic bombing and encouraged people to live in peace. The Atomic Bomb Dome across the river is another Peace Memorial Park facility. To get to Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, take a streetcar from Hiroshima Station to the Atomic Bomb Dome-mae stop.
Facility name: Peace Memorial Park
Address: 1-2 Nakajimacho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 730-0811
Tel: 082-504-2390 (Greenery Policy Division, Greenery Promotion Department, Urban Development Bureau, City of Hiroshima)
Hours of operation: Open 24 hours a day
Budget: Free (please refer to the official website for details)
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum was opened in 1955 with the aim of conveying to the world the devastation of Hiroshima Prefecture, where the world's first atomic bomb was dropped on August 6, 1945, and the suffering of the survivors, and thereby to abolish nuclear weapons and achieve world peace.
Admission is 200 yen for adults and 100 yen for high school students, but the first basement floor and first floor of the East Wing, where the Memorial Hall and special exhibition rooms are located, are free zones.
At Peace Memorial Museum, visitors can learn about the history of Hiroshima Prefecture and the current state of nuclear weapons in the world, as well as about the belongings of the atomic bomb survivors and photographs and other materials that show the devastation of Hiroshima. The exhibits are also designed in such a way that visitors can listen to the testimonies of A-bomb survivors in individual video booths and view dioramas to deepen their understanding. The museum is also actively engaged in such activities as holding lectures on the A-bomb survivors' experiences.
Access to Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum is approximately 20 minutes by local bus from JR Hiroshima Station, 17 minutes by "Meipuru-Pu" sightseeing bus, 25 minutes by city train, and 10 minutes on foot from Hiroshima Bus Center.
Name: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum
Address: 1-2 Nakajimacho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 730-0811
Phone number: 082-241-4004
Hours: [March-July] 8:30-18:00 [August] 8:30-19:00 (closing at 20:00 on August 5 and 6) [September-November] 8:30-18:00 Dec-Feb] 8:30-17:00 (subject to change)
Budget: Adults (college students and older) 200 yen (160 yen per person for 30 or more people) High school students 100 yen (free for 20 or more people) Junior high school students and younger free (see official website for details)
Shukkei-en Garden was constructed as a garden for the villa of Nagaaki Asano, the first lord of the Hiroshima Domain, by his retainer, Muneyoshi Ueda. The garden was built in 1620 and celebrated its 400th anniversary in 2020; it was devastated by the atomic bomb in 1945, but restoration work began in 1949 and lasted about 30 years.
Shukkei-en Garden is said to have been modeled after "West Lake," a scenic spot in China, where views of mountains and rivers, the scenery of Kyoraku, and the beauty of deep mountains are "miniaturized" in the garden. The garden is also called "Kaiyushiki Teien," or "circular garden," because of the large pond in the center of the garden and the surrounding valleys, bridges, and teahouses that can be enjoyed while walking around the garden.
Visitors can enjoy seasonal flowers in the park, and the cherry blossoms and autumn leaves are lit up. In addition, seasonal events such as a cherry-blossom viewing tea ceremony and tea picking festival in spring, and a rice planting festival and Tanabata tea ceremony in summer are also held from time to time.
To get to Shukkeien, take the streetcar and get off at "Shukkeien-mae" stop, or take the Hiroshima City Loop Bus and get off at "Kenritsu Bijutsukan-mae (in front of Shukkeien)" stop.
Facility name: Shukkei-en Garden
Address: 2-11 Kaminobori-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima 730-0014, Japan
Phone number: 082-221-3620
Hours: April-September 9:00-18:00 (admission until 17:30) October-March 9:00-17:00 (admission until 16:30)
Budget: Adults 260 yen High school and university students 150 yen Elementary and junior high school students 100 yen (Please refer to the official website for details)
Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art
The Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art is a contemporary art museum built on the summit of Hijiyama, approximately 70 meters above sea level. You can take the tram from the Hijiyamashita stop and head up the hill, but it is easier to get there via the Hijiyama Skywalk by getting off at the Danbara Chuo stop. The unique design, which looks like a combination of an ancient European circular plaza and a Japanese warehouse, was created by architect Kisho Kurokawa. The Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art collects works according to three themes: "important works in the stream of contemporary art after World War II," "contemporary art related to Hiroshima," and "works by promising young artists. In addition to exhibiting works from the collection, the museum holds special exhibitions three to four times a year. In addition, a giant sculpture "Arch" by Henry Moore stands in "Moore's Square" in front of the entrance, facing the hypocenter, and there are less than 20 outdoor sculptures on permanent display outdoors. Hijiyama Park, where the Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art is located, is also known as a cherry blossom viewing spot.
Name: Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art
Address: 1-1 Hijiyama Koen, Minami-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 732-0815
Phone number: 082-264-1121
Hours: 10:00-17:00 (admission by 16:30) (*The museum is currently closed for renovation. Scheduled to reopen in March 2023)
Budget: Collection exhibition: Adults: 300 yen/University students: 200 yen/High school students and those 65 years old and over: 150 yen (University students, high school students, and those 65 years old and over must show student ID, official identification, etc.) (For details, refer to the official website)
Hiroshima Castle was built by Terumoto, grandson of Motonari Mori, also known as one of Toyotomi Hideyoshi's Five Grand Elders. The "five villages" where the castle was built were selected because they were located at the mouth of the Ota River, a strategic point for inland sea transportation and politically, militarily, and economically advantageous, but until then, they were cold villages overgrown with reeds. It took two years to build the castle, and at the same time, waterways and overland routes were constructed and a castle town was built. Gokamura," which had been a common cold village, was transformed into "Hiroshima," the political and economic center of the Chugoku region.
The keep is now open to the public as a history museum, and the highlights of the museum are the gold leaf shachi-kawara and gold leaf demon-plate roof tiles that were almost completely excavated from the ruins related to Hiroshima Castle. Also popular is a corner where visitors can take commemorative photos wearing uchikake and armor.
To get to Hiroshima Castle, get off at "Kamiyacho Higashi" or "Kamiyacho Nishi" streetcar stop and walk north for about 15 minutes. By bus, it is about a 6-minute walk from Hiroshima Castle (Gokoku Jinja-mae) stop on the Hiroshima City Loop Bus, or about an 8-minute walk from Godo-chosha-mae stop on the local bus.
Facility name: Hiroshima Castle
Address: 21-1 Motomachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 730-0011
Phone number: 082-221-7512
Hours: [Tenshukaku] Mar-Nov 9:00-18:00 Dec-Feb 9:00-17:00 [Ninomaru] Apr-Sep 9:00-17:30 Oct-Mar 9:00-16:30 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: [Tenshukaku] Adults 370 yen, High school students and seniors (65 and over) 180 yen, Free for junior high school students and under [Ninomaru] No entrance fee (please refer to the official website for details)
Orizuru Tower is a new complex completed in 2016.
The top of the 14-story building with two basement levels is an observatory, and on a clear day, visitors can see two World Heritage Sites at the same time: the Atomic Bomb Dome and Yayama on Miyajima Island. The observatory is a wooden, gently sloping hill where visitors can enjoy refreshments. To reach the observatory, visitors can use not only the elevator but also a spiral ramp "walkway" with a walking distance of about 450 meters. In addition, the downhill slide "Kuru Kuru Kuru" is free to use and is popular with both children and adults.
On the 12th floor, there is "Origuru Hiroba," an attraction where visitors can fold origami paper cranes and throw them into the "Origuru no Kabe" wall. In addition, there is an exhibition of about 1,000 Hiroshima products, a café with a limited menu featuring Hiroshima specialties, and digital content related to origami cranes and Hiroshima.
Access to Orizuru Tower is a 1-minute walk from the Hiroshima Dentetsu "Genbaku Dome-mae" stop from JR Hiroshima Station.
Address: 1-2-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051
Phone number: 082-569-6803
Business hours: Observation Deck & Products Museum 10:00-19:00, Handshake Cafe 10:00-21:00 (L.O. 20:30) *Sunday (last day of consecutive holidays) 10:00-19:00 (L.O. 18:30) (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: Admission: Adults 1,700 yen, Junior and senior high school students 900 yen, Elementary school students 700 yen, Infants (4 years old and up) 500 yen Orinzuru entrance fee +500 yen (+600 yen if purchased separately) (For details, please refer to the official website)
Hiroshima City Asa Zoological Park
Asa Zoological Park is a zoo located about 50 minutes by bus from JR Hiroshima Station. Asa Zoological Park is home to approximately 160 different species of animals. Highlights of the park include "Pichiku Park," where visitors can interact with goats, miniature pigs, sheep, and other animals; the 5-meter-high "Giraffe Terrace," which is almost as high as a giraffe's face, so visitors can get up close to the giraffes; and the Zebra Corner, one of the largest in Japan, with about 15 animals in all. Another attraction of the park is that various events are held mainly on weekends, such as pony rides on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, backyard guided tours on Saturdays, and lion feeding on Sundays. Since the park is large, visitors with small children may want to rent strollers, and the elderly may want to rent electric senior citizens' cars at the information desk. There is a cafeteria in the park, but on a fine day, we recommend spreading out your own lunch at the "picnic square. At the store, you can also purchase goods in collaboration with the local professional baseball team, the Hiroshima Toyo Carp.
Facility name: Hiroshima City Asa Animal Park
Address: Oaza Zoo, Asa-machi, Asakita-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima 731-3355, Japan
Phone number: 082-838-1111
Hours: 9:00 - 16:30 (admission until 16:00) <Closed: Thursday (open on national holidays) December 29 - January 1 of the following year
Budget: Adults 510 yen/65 years old and over 170 yen/Children (high school students and under 18 years old) 170 yen/Junior high school students and under free (65 years old and over must present official identification (health insurance card, driver's license, etc.) to confirm age) (For details, please refer to the official website)
The Atomic Bomb Dome is the building that was hit by the world's first atomic bomb used on August 6, 1945; when it was built in 1915, it was named the Hiroshima Prefectural Products Exhibition Hall, but it was later renamed the Hiroshima Prefectural Industry Promotion Hall at the time of the bombing. While wooden two-story buildings were the norm in downtown Hiroshima at the time, this European-style building with its five-story stairwell, combined with its riverside location, was one of Hiroshima's most famous landmarks. After the war, it naturally came to be called "Atomic Bomb Dome" because of the dome-like shape of the steel frame at the top. In 1996, the dome was registered as a World Cultural Heritage site as an architectural reminder of the devastation caused by nuclear weapons.
To get to the Atomic Bomb Dome, get off at the "Genbaku Dome-mae" stop on any streetcar, Hiroshima City Loop Bus, or local bus. It is also about a 5-minute walk from the Hiroshima Bus Center.
Facility name: Atomic Bomb Dome (Genbaku Dome)
Address: 1-10 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 730-0051
Phone number: 082-242-7831
Hours of operation: 24 hours
Hiroshima Toshogu Shrine
Hiroshima Toshogu Shrine was built in 1648 by Mitsuakira Asano, lord of the Hiroshima domain, to honor his grandfather, Ieyasu Tokugawa. It was built in the northeastern position of Hiroshima Castle, which is the "demon's gate" of the city. The "demon's gate" is said to be the direction from which demons enter, and in feng shui it means "change." Tokugawa Ieyasu, who wished for the safety of the Edo shogunate, placed great importance on the protection of the demon's gate. The main hall and worship hall, which were built by craftsmen invited from Kyoto, were destroyed by fire in the atomic bombing, but the worship hall was rebuilt in 1965 to commemorate the 350th anniversary of Tokugawa Ieyasu's death. The main shrine was rebuilt in 1984. The Karamon gate, the corridor, the water closet, the main hall, the offering hall, the side gate, the portable shrine, and the kirin lion head are designated as Important Tangible Cultural Properties by the City of Hiroshima. You can also visit the shrine while waiting for your Shinkansen train.
Facility name: Hiroshima Toshogu Shrine
Address: 2-1-18 Futaba-no-sato, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 732-0057
Phone number: 082-261-2954
Opening hours: Gate opens at 6:10/closes at 19:00, Hours for prayers: 9:00-16:00 (no reservation required) (subject to change according to circumstances)
Budget: Prayer fee charged (see official website for details)
Hiroshima Oyster Road
This business introduces restaurants where you can enjoy cheap and delicious oysters as much as you want, mainly along the Seto Inland Sea coast of Hiroshima. You can enjoy oyster dishes at very reasonable prices mainly along the Seto Inland Sea coast from winter to spring, when oysters are in season. Try as much as you want of the unique oysters of Hiroshima, which has the highest production rate in Japan. Some restaurants are only open during the season, while others are open all year round, so if you come to Hiroshima during the season, please choose the one that is only open during the season. Please check the Oyster Road Map on the official website for information on each restaurant.
Facility Name: Hiroshima Oyster Road
Opening hours: Winter to spring only
Budget: (Please refer to the official website for details)
Okonomiyaki Mitchan Sohonten
This okonomiyaki restaurant is very popular among Hiroshima citizens for its unchanged taste since 1950, based on the theme of okonomiyaki that can be eaten every day and that is light and never boring.
Micchan's original okonomiyaki sauce is irresistibly delicious, yet light. If you add the topping of green onion (150 yen) to the popular soba meat and egg, you can have a heaping pile of green onion, which is enough green onion for a month's worth of okonomiyaki. Surprisingly, the okonomiyaki and the green onion go surprisingly well together, so strangely enough, you can eat it indefinitely. Teppan-yaki is also popular, with oyster yaki available in miso butter soy sauce and salt lemon butter, and you can also try Hiroshima's famous kone.
Name: Okonomiyaki Mitchan Sohonten
Address: 1F Tulis Hatchobori, 6-7 Hatchobori, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone number: 082-221-5438
Business hours: 11:30~14:30 / 17:30~21:00 (subject to change)
Budget: ³,000~1,999 (Please refer to the official website for details)
Carp Baseball Gallery
The Hiroshima Toyo Carp, known by the nickname "Carp," is Hiroshima's leading professional baseball team. This Carp Baseball Gallery displays bronze plaques and uniforms of all the past inducted players from 1950 to 2020. In addition, successive championship trophies from 1975 to 2018 are displayed in the central part of the gallery.
Facility name: Carp Baseball Gallery
Address: 6-7 Hatchobori, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone number: 082-227-2222
Business hours: 10:00~17:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: (Please refer to the official website for details)
Yamato Museum (Kure Maritime History and Science Museum)
The city of Kure flourished as Japan's largest naval arsenal. After the war, the city continued to utilize its technology to build many of the world's largest tankers and played a role in making Japan the world's leading shipbuilding nation. The Yamato Museum introduces not only the history of Kure, but also various types of science and technology, including shipbuilding and steelmaking.
On the first floor of the Yamato Museum, visitors are greeted by a replica of the battleship Yamato, which was built in Kure City. The replica is one-tenth the size of the actual battleship, but is approximately 26 meters long, and visitors will be overwhelmed by its size and Kure's technological prowess. In addition, there are exhibits on the history of Kure and a large data display room.
Recommended for families is the "Shipbuilding Technology" corner on the third floor. The museum offers a variety of attractions such as a ship-handling simulator and an experimental water tank, where visitors can enjoy learning about science and technology through hands-on experience. The Yamato Museum is a 5-minute walk from Kure Station and a 1-minute walk from Kure Port. Paid parking is also available for private vehicles.
Name: Yamato Museum (Kure Maritime History and Science Museum)
Address: 5-20 Takaracho, Kure City, Hiroshima 737-0029, Japan
Phone number: 0823-25-3017
Hours: Tuesdays (or the following day if Tuesday is a national holiday) closed 9:00 - 18:00 (exhibition rooms open until 17:30) (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: General (college students and above) 500 yen, High school students 300 yen, Elementary and junior high school students 200 yen (for details, please refer to the official website)
Kure Historical Museum of the Maritime Self-Defense Force (Tetsu no Kujira-kan)
The JMSDF Kure Archives, nicknamed "Tetsuno no Kujira-kan," is a museum where visitors can learn about "submarines" and "minesweepers" used to clear mines. The museum not only introduces the history of the Maritime Self-Defense Force through numerous documents, but also provides information about the relationship between the Maritime Self-Defense Force and the city of Kure, which has developed as a shipbuilding town.
The centerpiece of the exhibit is the Akishio, a submarine actually used by the Maritime Self-Defense Force. The actual "Akishio," 76 meters long and weighing approximately 2,200 tons, is on display, and visitors can actually board the submarine. The museum's store sells original goods, souvenirs of Kure, and Self-Defense Forces goods such as unit identification hats and JMSDF pins, and the café serves Akishio Curry, a specialty approved by the 10th captain of Akishio.
Access to the JMSDF Kure Museum is a 5-minute walk from JR Kure Station, a 1-minute walk from the "Yume Town Yamato Museum Mae" bus stop by bus, or a 3-minute walk from Kure Chuo Pier by boat. There is also a paid parking lot for private vehicles.
Facility name: Kure Historical Museum of the Maritime Self-Defense Forces (Kaijyo Jieitai Kure Shiryokan)
Address: 5-32 Takaracho, Kure City, Hiroshima 737-0029, Japan
Phone number: 0823-21-6111
Hours: Tuesdays (or the following day if Tuesday is a national holiday) closed 9:00-18:00 [last admission 17:30] (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: Free (Please refer to the official website for details)
Ondo Seto Park
Ondo Seto Park is located on the mainland side of Kure, overlooking the Ondo Seto. Seto" refers to a narrow strait, and Ondo Seto is only about 90 meters wide. The red arched "Ondo Ohashi" and "Daini-Ondo Ohashi" bridges cross over it (between the mainland side of Kure and Kurahashi Island). The Ondo Seto Bridge is said to have been completed in one day at the end of the Heian Period (1162) by Taira no Kiyomori, who called back the setting sun. In Ondo no Seto Park, visitors can enjoy approximately 8,300 azaleas from late April to early May, and the view of the bridge through the azaleas is particularly beautiful. The park also features the old resting stone battery, completed in 1901 before the Russo-Japanese War, and the Eiji Yoshikawa Literature Monument, inscribed with the words of Eiji Yoshikawa, who visited the area to research his novel "Shin Heike Monogatari" (Tales of the New Heike). Near the "Ondo Watashi-bune-guchi" bus stop, which is the closest to Ondo Seto Park, there is a boarding platform for the Ondo ferry that connects to Kurahashi Island in about 3 minutes.
Facility name: Ondo no Seto Park
Address: Kegoya, Kure City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 737-0012
Tel: 0823-25-3309 (Kure City Tourism Promotion Division)
Okunojima is called "Rabbit Island" and is home to 900 to 1,000 wild rabbits. Rabbits are popular all over the world not only for their loveliness, but also as a symbol of easy childbirth and prosperity of offspring, attracting many tourists from Japan and abroad.
Since the island is small, with a circumference of only about 4 km, it is basically a walking trip, but rental bicycles are also available.
The island is also well equipped for leisure activities. Camping equipment and stoves can be rented on the island, allowing visitors to enjoy camping and BBQs while gazing out at the Seto Inland Sea. In summer, visitors can also swim in the sea. Although Okunojima is now designated as a national park, it was once the site of a poison gas factory. To remember the sad history of the many victims, there is a poison gas museum on the island.
Access to Okunojima is a 15-minute boat ride from Omishima Ferry Omishima (Morishima Port), so a day trip is possible, and in addition to restaurants, there are hot springs and lodging facilities for a relaxing stay.
Facility Name: Okuno Island
Address: Okunojima, Chukai-cho, Takehara City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 729-2311
Phone number: 0846-26-0321
Kagura Monzen Hot Spring Village
Kagura Monzen Touji-mura is a facility located deep in the mountains of Aki that recreates a nostalgic hot spring town of the past. The natural radon hot spring "Iwatoya" offers not only day-trip hot springs, but also overnight accommodations. Local gourmet foods and restaurants featuring local specialties are also available. While relaxing in the hot spring and dining area, visitors can also enjoy entertainment to the fullest. Visitors can enjoy Yose performances in the atmosphere of those days at the Kamukura-za Theater, and at the Kagura Experience Hall, there are many hands-on activities for both children and adults. At the "Kawaguchi Kenji Picture Gallery," where mainly landscape paintings are exhibited, visitors can enjoy beautifully painted works by the late Kenji Kawaguchi, a painter. To get to Kagura Monzen Hot Spring Resort by car, take the Takada IC of the Chugoku Expressway (approx. 7 min.) or the Chiyoda IC (approx. 15 min.). By bus, take an express bus bound for Miyoshi/Shobara from the Hiroshima Bus Center, and get off at the Kosoku Mitosato bus stop after about a 60-minute ride. From the direction of Osaka, take the JR Chugoku Bus "Hamadamichi Express" from the JR Express Bus Terminal at Osaka Station, get off at Takada Interchange Bus Stop, and use the free shuttle bus.
Facility name: Kagura Monzen Toji Mura (Kagura Monzen Touji Mura)
Address: 4627 Hongo, Midori-cho, Akitakada, Hiroshima 731-0612
Phone number: 0826-54-0888
Budget: Varies by facility (see official website for details)
Kure Portopia Park
The facility is located just a short distance from Kure Portopia Station, and admission and parking are free. There are many playground facilities such as swimming pools and parks, and many events are held on Saturdays and Sundays. There is also a deck by the sea where you can go fishing. We recommend spending the whole day relaxing and looking at the sea.
Facility name: Kure Portopia Park (Kure Portopia Park)
Address: 3-2-3, Ten'ou Ohama, Kure City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 737-0875
Phone number: 0823-30-0211
Hours: 9:00 - 21:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Arrayed butterflyfish (Chaetodon alewifei)
From Array to Sukouji, visitors can see actual submarines in action up close. The submarines and destroyers of the Maritime Self-Defense Force are berthed in the Array to Sukoujita, reminding us that Kure used to be the home of the Navy. An old torpedo loading crane is also located here and can be visited freely. The surrounding area is a park where visitors can enjoy the retro atmosphere and take a stroll along with the wharf. It is also a popular night view spot.
Facility name: Alley Karasu Kojima
Address: 8 Showa-machi, Kure City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone number: 0823-25-3309
mountain where logging is prohibited
The view from the top of 829-meter-high Mt. Noro is one of the most beautiful in the Seto Inland Sea National Park.
Cherry blossoms and azaleas in spring and hydrangeas in summer bloom all over the summit, and the area is crowded with people enjoying nature walks each season. There are also campgrounds, lodges, and other lodging facilities near the summit, where visitors can enjoy mountain climbing, camping, and other activities.
Facility Name: Noro Mountain
Address: Noroiyama, Kure City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Etajima was once famous for its navy and is still used as an educational training facility for the Maritime Self-Defense Force. The Educational Reference Hall, located in the former naval academy, displays Japanese battleships from World War II.
Etajima City can also be reached by ferry from Hiroshima City in about 40 minutes. Kayaking and SUP experiences are also available, taking advantage of the abundance of nature, and the area near the top of Mt.
Facility name: Etajima (Etajima)
Address: Etajima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Sandan Gorge is a large 16-km gorge with landscapes that resemble a landscape painting. Its natural beauty is sometimes compared to that of Guilin in China. In the Edo period (1603-1867), Sandan-kyo was already well known to local people as an unexplored region. It became nationally known around 1918 when photographer Nambo Kumamoto and his colleagues began to promote the area. The name "Sandan-kyo" is said to have been taken by Nambo from the words "San-e," "Sandan," and "Sandan-kyo," each of which has one character. There are five main attractions in Sandankyo: Nidan Falls, Sandan Falls, Mitsu Falls, Sarutobi, and Kurobuchi. Of these, Sarutobi, Nidan Falls, and Kurobuchi can only be reached by ferry. Kurobuchi is a sheer cliff that rises for about 100 meters. The name "Kurobuchi" comes from the fact that it used to be the deepest point in the canyon and the bottom appeared black. Kurofuchi-so, the only restaurant in Sandan Gorge, is reached by Kurofuchi Wataru-bune, where you can enjoy grilled sea bream or, in summer, Nagashi Somen (fine white noodles served flowing in a small stream). Sarutobi, with its 20-meter-high cliffs, got its name from the monkeys that used to fly between the cliffs. A boat ride through the looming cliffs will take you to Nidan Falls. A promenade is also maintained along the mountain stream in Sandankyo, so a stroll while soaking up the negative ions is recommended.
Facility name: Sandankyo
Address: Akiota-cho, Yamagata-gun, Hiroshima
Phone number: 0826-28-1800
Operating hours: 【Kurobuchi Wataru Boat】 9:00-16:00 (mid-April to late November, operates daily during the period), 【Sarutobi Wataru Boat】 10:00-15:00 (late April to late November, operates only on weekends and holidays during the regular period, operates daily during Golden Week, mid-August, late October to late November) (subject to change according to conditions)
Budget: 【Kurobuchi Wataru Boat】High school students and older: 500 yen round trip, 300 yen one way/ Junior high school students and younger: 400 yen round trip, 200 yen one way/ Infants free, 【Sarutobi Wataru Boat】Junior high school students and older: 500 yen round trip/ Elementary school students and younger (including infants): 300 yen round trip, round trip microbus: 700 yen one way (for details, see official website)
Fukuyama Castle was built by Katsunari Mizuno, a cousin of Ieyasu Tokugawa. In addition to being selected as one of the "100 Great Castles of Japan," the ruins of the castle have been preserved as a national historic site and will celebrate the 400th anniversary of its construction in 2022. The castle tower had five stories, six floors, and one basement floor, which even the three Tokugawa clans were not allowed to have, but most of it was destroyed by fire during the war. The museum is open until summer of 2022. (*Please note that the museum is closed until the summer of 2022 for earthquake-proofing and renovation work.) It is also a famous cherry blossom viewing spot, with approximately 300 cherry trees to enjoy during the cherry blossom season.
Fukuyama Castle is very conveniently accessible, only a 5-minute walk from the north exit of Fukuyama Station, a Shinkansen bullet train stop. It can also be seen up close from the platform of the Shinkansen. If you are driving, parking is available at the Fukuyama Museum of Art and the Museum of Literature.
Facility name: Fukuyama Castle
Address: 1-8, Marunouchi 1-chome, Fukuyama, Hiroshima, 720-0061, Japan
Phone number: 084-928-1095
Hours: 6:00-22:00 (Fukuyama Castle Park) (* Temporarily closed until August 27)
Ikuo Hirayama Museum of Art
The Ikuo Hirayama Museum of Art houses the collection of Ikuo Hirayama, a Japanese-style painter from Setoda Town, where the museum is located. Setoda Town is located on Ikuchi Island, on the route of the Shimanami Kaido, which connects Onomichi City, Hiroshima Prefecture, and Imabari City, Ehime Prefecture. Ikuo Hirayama was exposed to the atomic bombing of Hiroshima in 1945, which inspired him to paint peace-themed works. The "Fifty-three Stations of the Shimanami Kaido" is a series of 60 watercolors that were painted to commemorate the opening of the "Shimanami Kaido" in 1999. The exhibition changes about four times a year. In such cases, ceramic objects are displayed at each of the sketched points, so it is a good idea to look around while cycling along the "Shimanami Kaido. After you finish viewing the artworks, we recommend taking a break at the tea lounge while enjoying the view of the Japanese garden. Be sure to try the menu featuring Setoda-grown lemons.
Name: Ikuo Hirayama Museum of Art
Address: 200-2 Sawa, Setoda-cho, Onomichi, Hiroshima 722-2413
Phone number: 0845-27-3800
Hours: 9:00-17:00 (admission until 16:30) (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: Adults 1,000 yen / University and high school students 410 yen / Junior high school and elementary school students 210 yen, 410 yen with a disability certificate, 1 discount with a Kosanji Museum admission ticket (see official website for details)
Ikuchijima is a small island in the Seto Inland Sea. If you use a bicycle, you can make a round of the island in less than three hours. The island is dotted with art spots and unique exhibits, making the entire island look like a museum. The island's specialty is lemons. Setoda Town on Ikuchijima is also known as "Lemon Island" because it is the largest lemon shipper in Japan. The island's specialties include "lemon hot pot" made with seafood from the Seto Inland Sea and Setoda's famous lemons, sweet and sour lemon gelato, and "lemon ramen" with its refreshing salt-based soup. Also, be sure to visit "Lemon Valley," where you can enjoy lemon groves all year round, and "Kosanji Temple," a tangible cultural property. The Kosanji Temple has a pure white marble garden called "Miraishin no Oka" that has become a hot topic on SNS, and it is truly a great spot for a photo shoot. We encourage you to take a leisurely tour of the island by bicycle. Access to Ikuchishima Island is by car, motorcycle, moped, or bicycle via the Shimanami Kaido, exiting at the Ikuchishima Kita IC. By train, take a passenger boat from Mihara Port, a 5-minute walk from Mihara Station on the JR Sanyo Main Line. Or take a bus or ferry from "Onomichi Station" to Ikuchishima.
Facility name: Ikuchi Island
Address: Onomichi City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Future Heart No Mound (Kōsanji Temple / Kōsanji Museum)
A space filled with marble art, the Hill of the Future Heart looks like the Mediterranean Sea. The 3,000 tons of marble imported from Italy is so overwhelming that it is hard to open your eyes without being dazzled. There are Instagram-worthy spots everywhere, and you can take more pictures than you can decide. It is located inside the Kosanji Temple Museum, so you can see exhibits other than the Miraishin no Oka (Hill of Future Mind). As much as possible, when the sun is high in the afternoon, the white color reflects diffusely and shines even more brightly. Aiming for a beautiful sunset is also recommended! There is a café inside the Kosanji Museum where you can enter while looking at Miraishin Hill, so you can also aim for a gap in the clouds.
Name: Kosanji Temple/Kosanji Museum
Address: 553-2 Setoda, Setoda-cho, Onomichi, Hiroshima 722-2411
Phone number: 0845-27-0800
Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: Adults 1,400 yen / University students 1,000 yen / High school students 800 yen / Seniors 1,200 yen / Elementary and junior high school students free (Please refer to the official website for details)
Setoda Sunset Beach
Setoda Sunset Beach, nicknamed "Shimanami Lemon Beach," is a beach located on Ikuchi Island in Onomichi City. It is the largest seaside sports park in the Chugoku-Shikoku region, with a vast 800-meter-long sandy beach, and is equipped with shower rooms, toilets, and changing rooms. The beach is so clear and beautiful that it has been selected as one of the 88 best bathing beaches in Japan. In addition, there are facilities for camping and BBQ, and marine sports such as sea kayaking and SUP can be enjoyed in the ocean.
As the name suggests, it is also famous for its beautiful sunsets at sunset time, and the scenery is so beautiful that visitors can come to watch the sunset even outside of the season.
Facility name: Setoda Sunset Beach (Setoda Sunset Beach)
Address: 1506-15 Tarumi, Setoda-cho, Onomichi City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone number: 0845-27-1100
Business hours: 9:00~17:00 *Extended hours during the sea opening period (subject to change depending on conditions)
Miroku no Sato
Located in Fukuyama City, this amusement park is popular among people of all ages. It has a wide variety of attractions, such as a 50-meter Ferris wheel, and a variety of delicious meals. In winter, there is a winter illumination, which makes the usual amusement park look a little different and special. During the illumination season, the park is open at night, making it a great place for couples or couples on an evening date. In addition to the amusement park activities, a large swimming pool is open in the summer. There are activities for the whole family, including water slides, a garden pool, and a shower dome. Some days in the summer, the night pool is open, so if you want to enjoy the pool on a cool evening, ask about it.
Facility name: Miroku-no-sato (Miroku Village)
Address: 638-1, Fujie-cho, Fukuyama, Hiroshima 720-0543
Phone number: 084-988-0001
Hours: 10:00-17:00, until 18:00 on weekends and holidays (subject to change depending on season and events)
Budget: Admission 1,000 yen for adults/700 yen for children (attractions charged separately) (refer to the official website for details)
huge comma design
Tomonoura, located at the tip of the Numakuma Peninsula in Fukuyama City, is one of the Setonaikai National Parks, the first national park designated in Japan. During the Edo period (1603-1867), the area flourished as a "tidal waiting port," where many boats gathered to wait for the incoming tide. Tomonoura is also known as the filming location for Studio Ghibli's "Ponyo on the Cliff," and scenes from the movie can be seen at key locations. There are also stylish general stores and cafes where you can enjoy a meal. You can enjoy the nostalgic townscape and the view of the Seto Inland Sea.
We recommend that you visit on a weekday, as the view of Tomonoura is most attractive when there are few people around.
Facility name: Tomonoura
Address: Tomo Tomo, Tomo Town, Fukuyama City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Senanoshima Island is located just outside of Tomonoura Port, overlooking Tomonoura. The small island, with a circumference of about 5 km, is characterized by a series of oddly shaped rocks, caves, and other unusual sights. Although the island is uninhabited, it is a popular sightseeing spot that can be reached easily by a 5-minute boat ride from a city-operated ferry. The entire island is a part of the Setonaikai National Park, and Senanajima, with its beautiful nature, is famous as a power spot. It is beautiful no matter where you take pictures, and the liberating view of the ocean from most of the island makes it a relaxing place to visit.
Facility name: Sensuijima Island
Address: Tomochi Gochi, Tomochi, Fukuyama City, Hiroshima Prefecture, 721-0202
Fukuyama City Zoo
Fukuyama Municipal Zoo, known as the only zoo in Japan that keeps "Borneo elephants," is located about 15 km from JR Fukuyama Station. On weekends, visitors can experience feeding the animals, and the zoo is fully enjoyable not only for partners but also for families. A total of more than 60 species of animals are on display, and more than 400 creatures can be seen. This is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the natural environment and animals in each of the four seasons at the same time. The animals on display include Mammalia: 28 species, 122 items; Birds: 21 species, 335 items; Reptilia: 9 species, 46 items (September 2020)
Facility name: Fukuyama Municipal Zoo (Fukuyama Shiritsu Zoo)
Address: 276-1 Fukuda, Ashida-cho, Fukuyama City
Phone number: 084-958-3200
Hours: 9:00 - 16:30 (admission until 16:00) (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: ¥520~ (Please refer to the official website for details)
To the Island
The island belongs to Onomichi City and is said to be the entrance to the Shimanami Kaido. The Shimanami Kaido is the only highway bridge that can be crossed by bicycle, and many people from all over Japan come to this area as a sacred place for cycling. Therefore, there are many bicycle shops, bicycle rental shops, and accommodations, making Shimanami Kaido a bicycle kingdom. However, it can also be enjoyed by car. At the same time that the Shimanami Kaido has become popular among cyclists, fashionable stores have sprung up on the island as if in competition with each other. There are many Instagram-worthy spots and a variety of souvenirs, all of which are up-to-date and cute. The shops are all cute and up-to-date, but the food is more rustic than sharp, making you feel at home both visually and in terms of taste.
Facility name: Mukaishima Island
Address: Mukaishima-cho, Onomichi City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Senkoji Park is a very romantic night view spot where you can see the night scenery around Onomichi Waterway.
The lights of passing ships and cranes of standing factories can be seen, reflecting off the water and looking very glittering. The cranes are illuminated from sunset to 22:00 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and days before holidays. Senkoji Park is located from the top of Senkoji Mountain to the middle of the mountain, but a more beautiful night view can be seen from the Onomichi Waterway. It takes about 3 minutes by ropeway, but it is recommended to take the ropeway up to the top while viewing the Onomichi Waterway. The ropeway is open until 5:15 (depending on the season), so if you only want to see the night view, you will have to drive up, leave your car at the parking lot, and walk to the observation deck. It takes about 5 minutes on foot.
Facility name: Senkoji Park
Address: 19-1 Nishidodo-cho, Onomichi-city, Hiroshima, Japan
Phone number: 084-838-9184
Fuzenji Temple, Tsushiro
Fukuzenji Taisho Tower is a Buddhist temple located in Fukuyama City, where Ryoma Sakamoto and other members of the Kaientai and the Kishu Clan actually conducted business during the "Irohamaru Incident. The view from here, with the window frames as picture frames, is breathtaking. The Tsushima Tower was once used as a guesthouse for the Korean envoys to Japan, and was praised by Lee Bang-on, an official engaged at the time, as the most beautiful scenic spot east of Joseon, and is called "Nitto's first scenic spot.
Facility Name: Fukuzenji Taichorou
Address: 2 Tomo-cho, Fukuyama City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone number: 084-982-2705
Business hours: 8:00~17:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Fukuyama Auto Timing Museum
This museum allows visitors to see, touch, and ride through the history of automobiles made in Japan and abroad. Of course, photos are allowed, making it a great photo spot for retro lovers. It is a great place to spend a whole day to see not only cars but also clocks, wax dolls, wooden horses, automatic pianos, music boxes, phonographs, cameras, radios, oil stoves, light airplanes, Piper Cherokees, and other retro items. It is a 15-minute walk from JR Fukuyama Station, so it is easy to drop by.
Facility name: Fukuyama Automobile and Clock Museum
Address: 3-1-22 Kitayoshizu-cho, Fukuyama City, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone number: 084-922-8188
Business hours: 9:00~18:00 (subject to change depending on conditions)
Budget: ¥300~¥900 (Please refer to the official website for details)
Author of this article